{our} Home for the Holidays

Today I’m linking up to The Nester’s Christmas Tour of Homes. Her site always leaves me a little breathless with the possibilities for home decorating. If you haven’t visited her {and now at her new address!} take a few minutes to explore her posts. She’s a font of information when it comes to sprucing up your home with simple ideas.

At first, I wasn’t sure I wanted to participate, but then I realized I had to. Partly to get over my insecurities of showing off our tiny little place… but mostly because I just love holiday decorating so much that I couldn’t pass up an offer to show off a few of my favorite decorations!

So without further delay, here is our festive home!

I love how clusters or decorations look in various places through the apartment, high up out of reach from little hands

Dec 13, 2009 009

Handmade by moi, years ago…

Dec 13, 2009 010

Simplistic beauty

Dec 13, 2009 011

There’s no right place for decorations in our house

Dec 13, 2009 021

Cookie cutters make for fun adornments to cabinets

Dec 13, 2009 017

A reminder of Fynn’s first encounter with Santa ~ at 13 months

Dec 13, 2009 023

And this might be one of my favorite ornaments… from Lucas’s first Christmas. It makes me smile every year, especially now because both of the kids love trains so much, it’s perfect.

Dec 13, 2009 027

Please run over to The Nester and check out the other participants. Last I checked there were over two hundred links… so there is plenty of Christmas cheer to spread around and keep you going through the week! Enjoy!

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “{our} Home for the Holidays

  1. I’m glad you shared! :)

    Our place is also tiny – but hey, we don’t have to put out as many things in order to look festive, right? :P

  2. What a gorgeous nativity set! And I love the little handmade elves. Elves? Santa guys? Whatever. They’re adorable. You could probably sell them on Etsy for $30 a pop. :)

  3. everything looks great. The little elves are adorable.
    Merry Christmas!

  4. I think the idea of “clusters of decorations” is brilliant. Always festive, too. And a cute idea to hang cookie cutters in the kitchen! (I’d have to buy some because we’re not big cookie people here.) ;)

  5. I love the idea of hanging cookie cutters! I just pulled my Christmas cookie cutters out of storage yesterday (sugar cookies are a must this time of year!) and they’re just in a pile on my counter. I’m going to put them to decorative use, too!

    We’ve got the clusters of decorations up out of reach, as well. And a “corral” around the Christmas tree, although he’s still able to reach over it, so all the ornaments are slowly being relocated to higher up in the tree!

  6. terilynneu

    Beautiful! I love it. My daughter is nine … and I guess I’m really fortunate that all my decorations are in tact … never even occurred to me to put things out of reach when she was little. Her chubby little hands touched every ornament, family heirloom, and piece of Christmas decor we had. :-)

  7. I understand the lack of space and problem with little hands!! [Hence why pretty much everything is suspended from the ceiling at our house!!] ;)

    Thanks for giving us a peek… love your handmade touches!

  8. Your decorations are lovely! Thanks for the tour. :-) I’m always curious to peek into other people’s homes. Your idea for the cookie cutters is fabulous!

  9. That Christmas train ornament is timeless. Great for 1975. Great for today. :)

  10. I love all of your Christmas decorations, but I especially like the idea of hanging cookie cutters from the kitchen cabinets! That is such a great idea, and I may have to do that next year. Your husband’s train ornament from his childhood is so perfect for your tree!

  11. LOVE the cookie cutters on the cabinets– my kids would love it, too– very, very cute. The train ornament is AWESOME. I also love holiday decor, but we have almost no place to put it– thanks for some good ideas

  12. Decorating takes on a whole new meeting when you’re trying to keep them out of the munchkins’ reach!

  13. Your house is beautiful. I especially love your nativity set.

  14. Wow. Thank you for sharing. I aspire to have beautiful decorations like these in my home going forward!

  15. Oh, that looks like fun! Your decorations are really cute. And you’re right; it’s what you do with the space that counts; the space itself is just that — space. :)

Leave a Reply

