Don’t smile… don’t do it!

Feb 17, 2010 027

This afternoon Paige was running around in circles, giggling, with her snow hat and her slightly too big 2T clothes {seriously, when did she get so big?? I learned with Fynn to skip the 24 month size, so we jumped from 18months to 2T… holy mama in shock!) her eyes danced as her feet stumbled…

She was hysterical. Until I broke out the camera and asked her to smile.

Thank goodness I have kids pulling shenanigans right and left, making me smile when I just don’t want to {enter feet stomping and arms crossing…} Laugh when I want to cry. Laugh when I want to pull my hair out and jump up and down over spilled milk. Just laugh. And smile. And giggle.

They tempt me. They tease me. They sit there with their silliness and their 3 year old and 18 month old antics, taunting…

Don’t smile Mommy, don’t do it!!!!

But I always do.

My pint sized blessings… smelling of white grape juice, covered in crumbs and dripping with love.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Don’t smile… don’t do it!

  1. Sometimes I don’t want to smile, just not in the mood, just to cranky, but how can you not? How can you deny their silliness? And it always works… at least a little bit. Paige is precious. Precious Paige. Sweet.

  2. Terri

    Too cute! I have a 2 yr old and 11 month old, so I’m right there with you. Sometimes I have to smile/laugh to make me not cry/scream at the craziness.

  3. isn’t that the way…
    but yeah. so glad they have the ability to make me smile, too…

  4. I loved those ages…so precious, so fun!
    Sounds like a great day!

  5. So lovely. And I always wondered why they even have 24 months clothes. ..

  6. I did that with both of my (now grown) boys. They’d get in a snit or get made at something, and I’d say, “Whatever you do, don’t smile.” Worked every time.

  7. Whoa, the look is SERIOUS. She’s really trying hard, it shows! Which makes it all the funnier.

  8. It’s the pink zebra on her shirt. I bet he told her not to smile, but probably he’s just jealous of her amazing hat. (Can you tell I’ve been spinning yarns for my daughter, trying to get her to fall asleep??)

  9. That picture is AWESOME! Love it! And they always make me smile, too. Always. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  10. Nicki

    Fantastic picture!

  11. i love toddler smell!
    juice and grahm crackers :)

  12. We were just talking about this the other day, some other moms and I. Kids are such blessings – eking smiles from us when we’re most resistant.

  13. What a sweet post! And yes, thank goodness for those laughs!

  14. They have 24 month clothes for little petunias that don’t put on any weight! My girl is over 2 1/2 and she still cannot go anywhere near 2T. 24 month is getting to be slightly more acceptable than 18 months, but 2T literally fall off of her.

    I am amazed how they can go from aggravating to the cutest thing ever (and BACK) in nano seconds. :)

  15. Those are some big eyes staring at that camera! Darling.

  16. I ask mine to smile and get the fakest looking smile you’d ever see!

    Nell

  17. She is too cute in that hat, and oh, the expression on her face is priceless! I can’t believe she’s already in 2T clothes! Comparing this photo to the one in your blog header (though I’m not sure when that was taken), it seems like she’s starting to lose that baby-ness, don’t you think? Looks like you’ve got a full-blown toddler on your hands now!!

    I love making Finley smile when he’s mad about something. And he never fails to make me smile even when I’M mad about something and just wanting to pout!

  18. What a sweet picture!

    (And, yes, what is up with sizes 24 mos. vs. 2T? I’ve never understood the difference…)

Leave a Reply

