Tuesday’s gift

Sept 20, 2009 054

As I walked through the field with my children, I knew what I was looking for. We meandered, but I gently nudged us in a certain direction. I was looking for a simple white elegant flower that grows like weeds, but holds her head high with hope. Hope to have her beauty seen. Queen Ann’s Lace.

Seeing even one flower makes me throw my head back, close my eyes and smile at the sun.

The small tender flowers remind me of childhood. Of pressing flowers between books, laminating bookmarks on now yellowed paper, preserving memories of a time when all I had was wonder and hope.

I could look at the flowers every day for an entire season, and I’d still throw my head back. They’re a gift, a simple lovely gift that makes me smile every time. Hope and wonder embodied in an Indian summer’s snowflake.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please visit Emily at Chatting at the Sky for more Tuesday’s Unwrapped. You’ll find simple moments and simple mysteries unwrapped in every day life. Enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Tuesday’s gift

  1. Beautifully written. I have fond childhood memories of those flowers. Esp. adding food color to the water and watching them change. =)

  2. oh how i have loved queen anne’s lace… all my life. as a little girl it grew in the backyard, and i felt lucky when one was graced with a ruby center. as a teen, tucking a stem intomy bible. as a bride when i carried it in my bouquet. and as a mom, sharing it with my kids on vacation.
    thanks so much for sharing this today. you have brought happy thoughts my way…

  3. Beautiful. So simple, yet so majestic. Thank you.

  4. I can remember putting Queen Anne’s Lace in colored water at my grandma’s house– it’s a very sweet memory I have of her. ­čÖé

  5. Your blog looks intriguing. I liked this post , and will be back to read around.

  6. Loved your description of an “Indian summer’s snowflake”. Wildflowers make me throw-back-my-head happy too.

Leave a Reply

