Unwrapping yummy goodness

Growing up I have very fond memories of  food. I love food. And anything sweet. Preferably chocolate. Sometimes I honestly forget that I can stop and take a moment to enjoy the food I’m shoving putting in my mouth.

The other morning we were playing outside in the chilly autumn air. Fynn was coaxed inside by promises of hot chocolate. Something he’d never had before. He had no idea what it was, except that it had something to do with chocolate, so it had to be good. He is, after all, my son.

We came in, got Paige settled with a snack, and made our warm delicious treat. He waited patiently, eying the small coffee cup that was on the counter curiously. “Like Daddy’s?” Yes, like Daddy’s. “Like Daddy’s Coffee?” No, not quite. Better.

When it cooled, I showed him how to hold the cup, and bring it up to his mouth. The handle had thrown him off.

He took his time deciding if it was good or not. Ultimately, it was all kinds of good. And he loved it. Savored it, with a big grin and joyful sounds that only a child can make.

We spent a few moments enjoying our hot chocolate. Me, remembering all the cool autumn mornings comforted by some warm chocolaty goodness, him making mental notes that this was something to request time and time again. We weren’t gulping, but sipping. Savoring it. Savoring the moment.

Oct 2, 2009 042

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please visit Emily at Chatting at the Sky for more Tuesday’s Unwrapped. You’ll find simple moments and simple mysteries unwrapped in every day life. Enjoy!

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Unwrapping yummy goodness

  1. I can almost here those little sounds only a child can make while enjoying something yummy.

  2. Yay! I love it! It’s like he was initiated into the family heritage of chocolate lovers everywhere. Such a sweet post!

  3. I was just thinking yesterday that hot chocolate weather is a’coming. I can’t wait to introduce my youngest to it! Thanks for the reminder

  4. Amy

    Thank you for sharing, I loved it!

  5. I loved reading about this shared time! Fall always makes me nostalgic. BTW, I LOVE this new blog of yours! I just haven’t been commenting as much as usual.

  6. So. I’m guessing (just guessing) by the chilly weather you reference that you might be breathing in the same northeastern autumn air that I am? Don’t you just LOVE it?
    I got the kids hooked on hot chocolate last winter after our first snowstorm (yeah, right around NOVEMBER). You’ve inspired me to pull the cocoa out again soon.
    Loved reading about this precious moment–thanks for sharing!

  7. We are very familiar with heated chocolate beverages over here 🙂

  8. Oh this was just so precious. I miss those little one new moments, but am so glad to read yours!

  9. This makes me want a giant mug of hot chocolate! {Love your cool blog header by the way.}

  10. I think it’s just cool enough for a cup of hot chocolate tonight — the perfect end to a rather hectic day!

    Thanks for your sweet (in more ways than one) post…

  11. mommy boo of two

    How sweet 🙂 I have been having hot chocolate the last few mornings myself. I love fall!

  12. What a lovely moment to capture, and done so well!

  13. My son just tried hot cocoa for the first yesterday too! He was equally enthralled with it, and asked for more today. Smart kid.

    Eloquent post!

  14. i love that you have recorded this moment for safe-keeping… forever.

Leave a Reply

