Fruitloops in unlikely places

Yesterday I walked around with open eyes and an open heart, waiting for my unwrapped moment. I looked, and looked, and started to get frustrated.

Then, it hit me. Well, it was more like it stared up at me from the pavement. We went for a walk on one of our favorite paths, and there it was. A fruitloop in the middle of the forest.

Seriously. There was a red fruitloop. In the middle of the forest.

How could that not be my unwrapped moment?

I’ve been a little out there the past few weeks. I’ve been enjoying my time, smiling, playing with the kids more than normal. I’ve been… happy. But I feel insane. For months I had a heavy weight on my head, but it’s gone. I haven’t wanted to write about it for fear of a jinx, but my three month migraine has departed – thanks to weekly acupuncture. It’s been a miracle. While I can feel them at bay, they’re manageable. Several times my husband will look at me and say “you’re back”. And that brings tears to my eyes. I was down, depressed, not myself. It took over me for so long that I have a hard time remembering what I was like prior to the onset of the lovely daily migraines. But I’m back. And it feels weird…

I feel like a fruity Arbor Mist in a wine rack of fine French wines. I’m giddy almost all the time. Energized, renewed, down right happy. The pain is gone and I can rejoice – though often times I forget why I have the energy I have, and why I’m as giddy as a two year old with a box of chocolates. I feel like a fruitloop in the middle of the forest.

And it took just that to get me to realize how good I feel, how thankful I am, how desperate I was to get back to me, and how prayers have been answered.

Oct 19, 2009 104

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please visit Emily at Chatting at the Sky for more Tuesday’s Unwrapped. You’ll find simple moments and simple mysteries unwrapped in everyday life. Enjoy!

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Fruitloops in unlikely places

  1. So glad to hear you’re “back”. Those migraines are a… well, a… pain in the neck. Close enough. Take care. =)

  2. praise God for the end of your migraine!! and for that little bit of sugary cereal that stopped you in your tracks. a gift, indeed!

  3. This is a beautiful post. I love the metaphor – and what a strange thing to find in the forest! Almost like someone planted it there just for you. I’m glad you are feeling better and hope it continues.

  4. I love that you have the perfect perspective, that you’re trying not stay stuck in pain and frustration.
    That’s truly inspiring.

  5. Glad that your migraine is being held at bay. Maybe it will completely go away. God bless.

  6. Candy

    I had a migrain just yesterday and wrote about it for my own Unwrapped post. God bless you for seeking out the good and the happy. I can’t imagine the pain, depression and agony you were in during those 3 months of migraines. Yay for relief!

  7. I agree with Ryan Ashlely Scott — I love the metaphor.

    And the fruit loop in the forest reminds me of the Hansel and Gretel story — maybe the birds ate the rest of the fruit loop trail!

    I’m glad your migraine is gone…I can’t imagine living with that kind of pain every day.

  8. I’m so glad to hear that you’re finally getting relief from your migranes! I know they can be so horribly debilitating. No wonder you’re feeling almost giddy to be free of them!

    I love these Tueday’s Unwrapped posts. I’ve really enjoyed reading yours over the past several weeks, and have hopped on over to “Chatting at the Sky” to check out that blog (which is now one of my new favorites!) and the Tuesday’s Unwrapped posts shared by other bloggers. I needed that reminder to stop and take note of the little things in my life that are so wonderful.

  9. blythe

    Glad you’re feeling better these days!

  10. I’ve never had a migraine myself, but I hear they are terrible. Gald to hear you are feeling better! 🙂

  11. Oh, girl. So glad they’re gone. About 8 or 9 years ago I had migraines so bad, daily for months and months. Finally I realized it might be the pill, and when I went off they were gone within 5 days, never coming back. I’m so so happy for you that you found a treatment that took care of it. I know what you mean about losing who you were and then ‘being back.” I get it completely.

  12. Your post made me smile. Praise God your migraines are gone but praise Him more for fruit loops in the middle of a forest! Welcome back. 🙂

  13. So glad those migraines are gone and you’re back to being “you”!

  14. Great post! I am so happy to hear that you migranes are gone and you are feeling better. That must be such a great feeling!

  15. a frootloop in the middle of the forest!! I love it. And your comparison is so well-said. So glad your migraines are gone…and so glad you unwrapped this moment for us!

  16. Praise God for the migraine relief!

    I am so going to use that Arbor Mist in a french wine rack line. I love it!

  17. you’re back…that must be so great to hear! I can’t imagine what it is like to deal with migraines every day…

    Great news!

  18. WOOO HOOOO! Migraines lifting! That’s such good news.

    And I love how you see the world, beauty in fruitloops 🙂

  19. Pingback: ~2009~ « Trains, Tutus and Twizzlers

Leave a Reply

