Tuesdays page turner

Oct 24, 2009 003

He had to bring it to the dinner table. It was not an option. He was engrossed, telling his own story as he looked carefully at each and every illustration. Struggling to keep the book in the right spot as he turned the pages, the pages so big in his little hands. He didn’t eat much dinner (he rarely does) but he was at least with us at the table that evening. A small success for us in the grand scheme of things.

And who was I to make him put down his book?

I couldn’t. At that moment, in him, I recognized myself. The book worm, eager to get my hands on anything with words. The child whose imagination grew with every turned page. The girl who couldn’t get enough of worlds that were captivating and seemed somehow possible.

Who was I to make him stop?

There’s no way. While it might not be polite, the occasional book at the dinner table will be tolerated, if not encouraged. Especially when shared with enthusiasm and curiosity with his dinner dates.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please visit Emily at Chatting at the Sky for more Tuesday’s Unwrapped. You’ll find simple moments and simple mysteries unwrapped in everyday life. Enjoy!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Tuesdays page turner

  1. In the grand scheme of things, it probably isn’t that bad… just annoying at times. My Evan wants to bring his dino toys to the table, and although we’ve fought this battle many times, he treats each new day like it’s a new day and a new chance to win this battle. In an uneasy truce, they now watch us eat from across the table. Hmmmm…..

  2. My autistic daughter has to bring her hello kitty coloring book to the table {and anywhere she goes, for that matter} she loves to look at the uncolored pages with such intent. She also reminds me of myself, oh how I love books! This was a great post {and I don’t think it is rude or impolite to bring things to the table that make you happy!}
    -H

  3. I can say no to Barbies and Transformers, Pla-Doh and Matchbox cars. But I cannot say no to books. I’m with you.

  4. I love the picture! As I writer I delight in seeing people lost in books!

  5. There is NOTHING like a good book. Dinnertime or not:)

  6. Well, at least it was a book about berries, right? (Click berry clack berry pick me a black berry!) Yeah, I’ve got the book memorized. Your son has impeccable taste in literature. 🙂

  7. When I had many little ones at the table, I was a little stricter.
    But now… I pick my battles. And often the paper is sprawled out, or some letter or other written things that we are sharing as a family as well.
    Awesome.

  8. that your little one loves to read is nothing to take for granted…a great tuesday gift!

  9. He picked a great one…I love that book!

  10. Love that book! I think I’d rather have books at the dinner table than some of our usual dinner time battles. You definitely have to pick your battles.

  11. Amy

    Maybe we could avoid some of our dinnertime struggles if we allowed books at the table. I might have to encourage that! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  12. So sweet! I’m with you…books at the table are hard to say no to. And in the interest of full disclosure, I’ve eaten many meals over the years while engrossed in an impossible-to-put-down book!

    Looks like you have a budding bookworm on your hands! That’s a wonderful thing!

  13. Books at the dinner table sound like great entertainment! I can’t wait until my oldest can read. How fun that will be.

    Nell

Leave a Reply

