How we spent Halloween

Oct 31, 2009 016

Instead of dawning costumes and facepaint, we opted for a little more of a stress free Halloween this year. We headed north to Lucas’s parents house, where the grandchildren were welcomed with open arms, donuts, and pumpkins ready to carve.

Oct 31, 2009 020

In lieu of trick-or-treating we had some silly swing times, followed by stare down contests with the jack-o-lantern. It’s hard to tell who won…

Oct 31, 2009 035

Oct 31, 2009 047

Oct 31, 2009 065

This is the last year I think we can get away with a fairly quiet Halloween. We find out in about a month if Fynn has outgrown his peanut allergy, which we’re hopeful he has… but if not, we’ll deal with how to handle things like trick-or-treating with food allergies next year. This year was quiet, and pretty nice if you ask me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Just an “administrative” note… this month I’ll be participating in NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month). I’ll be posting every day for a month, including weekends. It’s not that far off from what I’ve done the past few months… but I figure it’ll keep me honest, and motivated. Next year I might be brave and try NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) but this year I’m not quite that ambitious. Click over to the NaBloPoMo site to see who else is participating, there are some other fantastic blogs on their blogroll for November.  Happy November!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “How we spent Halloween

  1. It looks like you had a wonderful Halloween! I love the picture of Fynn’s Jack-o-lantern stare-off!

    I’ve wanted to do NaNoWriMo for years…but never actually started for one reason or another every November. I can’t imagine doing it now, either, with Sean being so young. I’ve never heard of NaBloPoMo, but that’s something I think I could handle at this stage in my life.

  2. Who says “trick or treating” has to be the norm? It looks like you made some wonderful memories.

    My son can’t eat Hallowe’en candy either this year, due to a cold. He’s not too pleased about it!

    Btw: love the jack-o-lantern and the staring contest. You just can’t beat that!

  3. I love your idea of a quiet take on Halloween. It looks like they had a good time. I’ll keep my fingers crossed on the allergy testing.

  4. We’re lucky — a neighborhood near us had a CF/GF trick or treating event, and most items were also nut free. I love that idea (we have a dairy allergy). Fortunately, there are several candies that are nut free and not processed in nut factories but it involves a lot of sorting (and saving the Snickers for Mom). Here’s hoping the allergy is outgrown and you enjoy every Halloween as much as this one!

  5. I LOVE your quiet Halloween! That sounds so nice. We would love that. And you are probably not dealing with a Sunday morning of little kids screaming and crying because they want their candy at 8:00am. *sigh*

    Looking forward to seeing what you do over here this month! Maybe I’ll sign up…we’ll see. 🙂 I’ve thought about the novel challenge, but with an 11month old, I just can’t even try this year. We can be writing buddies next November! 🙂

  6. liz

    sounds wonderful! LOVE LOVE LOVE that jack-o-lantern! special times…

  7. That sounds more fun than trick or treating by far!

  8. Sounds like a fabulously fun day. You have my email, I have some ideas for holidays with diet restricted kids. Send me a note if you need ideas. 🙂

  9. The staring contest is too cute!

Leave a Reply

