Dinner delights

Dinner time in our house is like many others around the world.

Chaos.

I try to hold the kiddos off until Lucas gets home from work, but sometimes it’s not possible as their day ends shortly after he arrives at 6:10. We hurry through dinner just to head off to baths and book reading.

With the time change, there was no way to hold dinner off, snacks were just not cutting it. So as I was making pear cobbler (yes, I finally made it after Sunday’s debacle…) the kids were sitting down to their supper. They had balloons attached to their chairs thanks to a friends birthday party that morning, separate dinners (as one likes to eat what mom and dad eat, the other has been living off of grilled cheese and yogurt for two of his three years), and they chatted while they munched.

At first I didn’t pay attention, but after a while I started hearing animal names being called out by one, and animal noises retorted by the other. So I payed attention. Fynn was quizzing his sister. But it got better, he started responding. Their conversation went like this:

Fynn: “Sheep!”

Paige: “Baa baa!!”

Fynn: “That’s right Paige, baa baa, that’s right.”

Fynn: “Cow!”

Paige: “Mooo mooo!”

Fynn: “That’s right Paige, moo moo, that’s right.”

And they laughed belly laughs. And ate their food. And kept each other company through an entire child sized dinner. At that very moment, I stood in the kitchen and realized that this was what family was about. What motherhood was about. Even what the world was about. Belly laughs, good food, family and love. What more could one ask for?

November 2, 2009 006

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please visit Emily at Chatting at the Sky for more Tuesday’s Unwrapped. You’ll find simple moments and simple mysteries unwrapped in everyday life. Enjoy!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Dinner delights

  1. So sweet! Thanks for the glimpse into dinner time! 🙂

  2. “Belly laughs, good food, family and love.”
    — This is what it’s all about, what makes a life worth living.

    What a sweet sibling moment! It must have just melted you, as you stood there, watching & listening to them.

  3. That’s just the best thing ever. Thanks for sharing that wonderful moment with us. =)

  4. You know, I find I rarely eat with my kids, bad habits from crazy days of 5 of them , hubby not home yet etc. And as they got and get older the schedules are just all over the place.
    But I savour their words, their togetherness, their joy.
    It really feeds my soul as it were, and that is more the point it seems in these crazy days.

  5. certainly not one more thing!
    thanks for sharing your love around the table…

  6. There is nothing in all the world sweeter than the sound of children laughing.

  7. Sweet chaos. Made me smile. (And I had to resist chiming in with my own animal impersonation. ; – )

    Thanks for being with us at the InCourage giveaway. That too made me smile.

  8. Love that conversation at the dinner table…THAT’s why I want another child. I can definitely relate to the dinnertime chaos. My husband doesn’t get home until 7:15, so we rush through dinner, then off to bed. It’s been worse with the time change too, because Finley is crashing earlier!

  9. Andrea

    I can’t wait until I hear Audrina belly laugh. It’s one of the best sounds around!

Leave a Reply

