Waldo’s Pond

As we arrived Fynn tried to reiterate our destination. “We’re going to Waldo’s Pond! I’ll find Waldo!” it broke our hearts a tiny bit to tell him that it was actually Walden Pond, and we would  not be searching for a man wearing white and red stripes, or the tell tale beanie.

The chill in the air was perfect, invigorating and got us through a fairly lengthy hike around the pond (for toddler legs in any case…)

The last few November leaves set the mood, brilliant and in need of adoration.

The serenity was interrupted a few times with confused exclamations from Fynn… “I can’t find him! Where’s Waldo??”

But we kept on walking, moving to the side to let faster walkers pass, enjoying the view.

You could feel it in the air. See it in the oh so clear water. This area is safe from outside influences. You can just be, with your thoughts and the land. It’s no wonder it was full of inspiration for the likes of Emerson and Thoreau.

And lucky for us, it’s practically right in our backyard. Worth the 20 minute drive, the struggles over winter hats and the distraction of occasional crazies taking dips in the pond, coming out into the blissfully chilled November air.

“I learned this, at least, by my experiment; that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”

~Henry David Thoreau, from Walden

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Waldo’s Pond

  1. Some day, I want to see Walden Pond. Sorry Fynn couldn’t find Waldo though. That is one to be sure and write down so you don’t ever forget it. He is adorable!

  2. That’s one of the things I love about New England. We get to share scenery with Longfellow, Emerson, Thoreau, Frost…. and of course, Waldo. 🙂

  3. My mom (Bacardi Mama) sent me a link to your blog because of this post. I am jealous of you! Thoreau is a hero of mine. I could pretty much recite Walden cover to cover if you needed me to. Hubby and I are squirreling away spare change, because we are determined that our next real vacation will be to Walden Pond. It’s one of those life goals that I have. Thank you for sharing!

  4. That photo of your daughter is just precious! Love it. Cute that Fynn was looking for Waldo. (I didn’t know he was still around!) =)

  5. Beautiful pictures, Corinne. And I love the new template and header!

    Nell

  6. Waldo’s Pond — I love it!

    I haven’t been to Walden Pond in years, and now I’m wondering why. What a beautiful, peaceful place, especially this time of year. Sounds like you had a wonderful day with the family!

  7. I lived in Concord for five years and your post brought me back to a very special time and place in my life. Thank you for that.

    The “Where’s Waldo?” connection isn’t one I’ve heard before and not one I’ll soon forget.

    Thanks for a special post.

Leave a Reply

