Remembering the reasons

The last time we moved {almost two years ago} we didn’t unpack our numerous boxes of books. Our reasoning? We cannot have bookshelves with toddlers without anchoring them to the walls. And we didn’t want to do that… because we didn’t think we’d be here that long. Oh and space, we have no space for bookshelves.

Fast forward to knowing we’ll be here for three years total.

I miss my books.

So over the weekend I went searching through hundreds of books for one or two in particular. I went through every single box, because {of course} the specific few I went looking for were in the last box, in the way back of the second thoroughly disected closet, under about six other boxes. In the process, I found about a dozen others that just had to be brought out. Some were mine, but most were my husbands. You see, between my Political Science degree with an English minor, and his English major, we have quite the collection.

Through a closet and two rooms  I called out “Hey, how was Gandhi’s autobiography?”, “did you know you had so many of Kerouac’s books?” and I might have muttered something along the lines of “how many works of Shakespeare can two people possibly own?” They all took me back.

All of those books played an instrumental role in the story of Corinne & Lucas. The first time I saw his apartment I was in love. It was perfect. It was located on a gorgeous street in a historical old New England town. He resided on the top floor of a renovated house, centuries old, with angled ceilings and tiny windows. A view of the street, without the noise, where you could see the snow on the town common accompanied by dog walkers and couples taking a brisk February stroll. But while it had all the staples of a bachelor pad {you know… dvd’s, video games, bare fridge, the just cleaned for a date smell…} it also had books. Rows and rows of books.

And I love books.

We sat and talked about different titles. I stole several minutes staring at the antique works and finely bound collections. The man had books. And he actually read them. He showed me albums of places that he’d been, told me stories of traveling through Europe alone, he came to life as he exposed his love of road trips, nature, and art. It wasn’t one of those first date shows, there was something so sincere and passionate about all that he had done, and all that he wanted to do.

I loved him.

And over the weekend as I got my answers to the questions I called out, “It’s good if you want to know what Gandhi ate” and “yes, I know” and even “did you say something?” I felt this warm fuzzy feeling that you get when you remember a forgotten reason. I smiled to myself several times looking through our collection. At points you could tell which one came from where, a definite his and hers; but the more years we’re together the more the divide dwindles.

I miss our books.

And I still love him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please visit Emily at Chatting at the Sky for more Tuesday’s Unwrapped. You’ll find simple moments and simple mysteries unwrapped in everyday life. Enjoy!

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Remembering the reasons

  1. Amy

    I love this post. I love books, too. Unfortunately my husband does not quit understand my obsession. This is a beautiful post. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I LOVE this!!

    And I love that my husband and I continue to need additional bookshelves in our home. Books continue to tell stories long after they have been erad, as your post so clearly tells us.

  3. I really love this “tidbit”… made me happy and sentimental and sad all at once. But mostly happy for you. =)

  4. Oh this is just wonderful – you are speaking my language – BOOKS! I love them so very much too. They have traveled with me everywhere I have lived and each time I open one it’s like catching up with an old friend. Libraries are second only to churches for me when it comes to comfort.

  5. This is so beautiful! Isn’t it funny how pouring over books brings back so many memories…almost like paging through a photo album. I, too, met my English major husband in college…and was nearly as enamoured with his book collection as I was with him!

  6. dawn

    how beautiful… to be reunited with your books… and reminded of your love! and this….
    At points you could tell which one came from where, a definite his and hers; but the more years we’re together the more the divide dwindles….
    i love that.

  7. I am a total bookaholic! Our room is piled with books, as is the kids’ room. As is my office. You can NEVER have too many books!!!

  8. Sigh. The contentness that comes from being surrounded by our books and a great husband!

  9. Love this. All of it — that you love your husband so much and that you love your books and that you share that with each other. I’ve been dwelling lately on what sparked my love for my hubby, too. It’s a warm and fuzzy thing to think about, isn’t it?

  10. This is so beautiful…great post!

  11. Beautiful! Colby doesn’t share my love (obsession?) of books, but has already promised me that our “forever house” will have an abundance of bookshelves.

    How wonderful that must have been — to be reunited with all your favorite books, and to be reminded of what made you fall in love with your husband in the first place.

  12. Only a book-lover would understand. I understand.

  13. I love books. I have them all over the house. Hundreds of them. Sadly, I am the only one who reads them. I keep hoping one of my kids will pick up my love. Until then, you aren’t sure whether you are in my “library room” or a real library!
    Great post.

  14. It must be such an incredible thing, that you can have all of these unspoken spoken words flowing in the back and forth and together of you.
    How romantic. And real.

  15. Jen

    Books surround us in almost every room of our (small) house. We did strap the shelves to the wall. Several times, because we kept moving the shelves! I hope you had a great time looking through your boxes; sounds like a treasure hunt! And I hope you can get the books OUT of the boxes soon. There is such comfort for me in the presence of books. And I’m pretty sure my kids feel the same way. My son asked me just tonight, “Mom, when can we EVER go to the bookstore?” 🙂

  16. Such a good post. I know what you mean about missing books. We had ours boxed up for two years and it drove us batty. We were constantly rummaging around in the attic, hunting down a specific title. We finally bought some garage shelves from Costco for 60 bucks a pop and put them in our dining room. They hold up to 2000 pounds, they’re black (which is cool), and now I can put my fingers on every single spine of every single book. (Well, except for the two boxes more we just found in the attic that I’ve got to squeeze in with the others!) Totally worth the money!

  17. I LOVE books too! You should see the nightstand beside my bed! It’s ridiculous!! Thanks for sharing your memories!!

  18. Books are like good friends! It’s a dream of mine to have built-in-bookshelves someday. Moments like the one is this post are so special!

  19. Beautiful, simply beautiful!

  20. Pingback: ~2009~ « Trains, Tutus and Twizzlers

  21. Pingback: Flashback Friday ~ Love « Trains, Tutus and Twizzlers

Leave a Reply

