You Capture – Happy story

There was once a little girl who loved Christmas. She would count down the days, begging to be the one to put the ball on the Advent tree made by her mother.

Dec 2, 2009 010

Finally, a system was devised. Based on birthdays. The one w/ the even birthday gets the even days, and vice versa. Luckily, one was born on each.

Dec 2, 2009 012

Starting on Thanksgiving, every day until Christmas the little girl would listen to festive tunes, singing along in delight. Memorizing songs, singing for no one and everyone.

Dec 2, 2009 017

Her middle name actually meant Christmas. She cherished that fact every December. She’d ponder how it was meant to be, her love for the holiday. Staying up late at night making her list and reciting the lines she wrote for Santa, she’d finally drift off and dream of snowflakes and stockings.

Dec 2, 2009 019

On Christmas morning, for years, she thought nothing could possibly be better than Christmas through a child’s eyes.

Dec 2, 2009 022

Until she had her own children, each with eyes filled with hope, wonder, and excitement.

It’s better. Much much better.

Dec 2, 2009 026

December makes this womans girlish heart happy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This weeks You Capture challenge was to tell a story, using pictures of what makes you happy. Stop by Beth’s site to check out all the participants!

Photobucket

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “You Capture – Happy story

  1. Christmas makes me so happy too, I get so excited when the decorations get dragged out and the Christmas music starts!

  2. I love your photos! And I really love your hand made Advent tree! Too cute!
    Toni

  3. I love your photos. I’m thinking about the birthdays in our family: my brother was even, I was odd. Now my oldest is odd and my youngest is even. My husband and I are both odd though… and I mean that in more ways than one. 😉

    Anyway, love this season as well. And I love it even more through the eyes of my children. Great post and great captures.

  4. I’m a Christmas girl, too. This post makes me happy.

  5. What a sweet story! I love the advent tree, I’ve never seen that before but what a great idea!

  6. what a beautiful story…i’m glad you have such wonderful happy!

  7. Beautifully written! I love Christmas and the joy that surrounds it!

  8. Loved this! The Christmas season always made me so happy — I love the child-like joy I get, and can’t wait to experience it with my own child this year (last year doesn’t count, since I was seriously stressed during my final month at work!).

  9. What a great story! Christmas is my fave season and you just expressed all the reasons why (except for the Advent calendar part, we didn’t have one of those growing up…not even sure how it works?! Oh and the middle name meaning “Christmas” that doesn’t apply either, but still…).

  10. This was just so very lovely, Corrine. Your photo’s are so good!

    Nell

  11. What a lovely way to tell a story, Corinne. I am a Christmas Eve baby (hence the name Kristen) and the Christmas season has always held such significance for me. I am a bit wistful now that I have children: we are an interfaith family and we haven’t quite figured out how to mesh Husband’s Jewish traditions with my own. I do hope to be able to convey to my children the magic, hope, and possibility I felt at Christmastime as a child.

  12. Noel is such a beautiful name… we toyed with it for a girl while we were pregnant.

    Wonderful story and captures!

  13. Your decor is so cute…I like the advent calendar!

  14. yestheyareallmine

    Beautiful story!

  15. alita

    It is better, much better, through our children’s eyes. What a touching story. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

