Snow day

I’ve started three different posts today.

Between stir crazy kids learning how to just be at home on a snow/slush day, and a mind that’s not completely over the last post, I’m not feeling incredibly wordy or inspired.

But I wanted to share these pictures from today.

We’ve had a silly day. Full of Christmas brownie making and goofiness. Paige is perfecting her dance moves to Alan Jackson’s carols {which, if you haven’t heard him do Christmas songs…. please look him up. Especially “Let it be Christmas”, maybe that’s my problem, I’m feeling weepy and melancholy from listening to him!} and Fynn is… well… being Fynn. Trying to be silly, and dramatic, and THREE.

In this one he’s trying to {no, not squeeze her head to pulp…} kiss his sister. Really big, as he likes to say:

Dec 9, 2009 016

A certain someone {ahem… Daddy…} taught the kids the fun trick of stealing noses. It’s a game Paige cannot get enough of:

Dec 9, 2009 024

And who doesn’t love some fun with a colander? Life doesn’t get much better!

Dec 9, 2009 028

Dec 9, 2009 031

For those of you enjoying snow days, I hope you’re having a blast in the snow! Ours, unfortunately, has been rain for a bit… which is why we aren’t outside making snowmen and snow forts. It’s just slush outside… yuck!

Well, the kids are dancing on the tables, so I’d better run before they start pushing each other off or giving big kisses that turn into wrestling matches…. thank goodness the colander isn’t involved!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Snow day

  1. We have wind here. Lots and lots of wind. I think I’d take the slush, because it’s so windy it’s kinda scary sometimes.

    In better news, these are REALLY cute pictures.

  2. I had to laugh. Longer ago than I’d like to think about, my father also taught me how to steal noses. a tradition passed down to my (now grown) two sons.

  3. ann

    Yes, I do prefer snow to rain, but aside from that our day looks almost identical!

  4. My kiddos give each other the same sort of “kisses”. You know, the kind that make you wonder if the intended affection is going to land one of them in the ER.

    I’m hoping this rain isn’t going to make a complete mess of what used to be a pretty snow cover. We’ll see..

  5. It sounds like you made memories out of a home-bound day. I love how you put it: kids “learning how to just be at home.” Isn’t it funny how kids sometimes resist doing the things we adults would love to be able to do? Taking naps, eating healthy food that’s been prepared for them, just being at home on a lousy day.

  6. I told my family to get my kids kitchen utensils for Christmas. Rubber spatula, silverware, etc. It seems like that’s all they play with. And the lids to my pans–a shield.

  7. So cute with the colander hat!

  8. Oh, the train set! The toy bins! Brings back memories. Glad you had a good day with the kiddos, despite the slushy weather.

  9. Fun how siblings can entertain (try to kill) each other on snow/slush/rain days. 😉

  10. I haven’t been feeling all that inspired to post, and have two or three abandoned entries in drafts, too. It’s just been one of those weeks…

    Love these photos, they just perfectly express that fun rambunctiousness that sets in when you’re stuck indoors for a while! Fynn squeezing/kissing Paige is just adorable!

    I don’t think I’ve heard any of Alan Jackson’s carols, but I’m in such a Christmas music mood, so I’m going to add this to my list of music to find! I just picked up the soundtrack to “A Charlie Brown Christmas” at the library yesterday, so that’s been our background music this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

