Here’s to 2010…

The year was 1999.

His hair was blonde. Glasses thick and black rimmed. I believe he was channeling Buddy Holly.

I was set up on a blind date, by a good friend of mine and his girlfriend. We met at his parents house (we were all in college…) and went from there. We ended up at a beach in Wells, Maine. Ringing in a time of uncertainty. For all we knew the world was going to end with the year 2000, and if we were going to be anywhere, it was to be a peaceful spot with crisp salt air. My friend and his girlfriend are now engaged. Me and Buddy Holly? We didn’t click. Not even on a chilled romantic New Years Eve beach setting.

As my mother in law said over Christmas “Thank goodness that didn’t work out!”

Less than a mile away, unbeknown to me, sat my future husband with his family. I kid you not.

Ten years later I sit in the same condo he sat with his family. My family is currently getting tucked into bed. I’m sitting, waiting for my husband to emerge from the kids room so we can have our own quiet, intimate, new years celebration.

This past decade… the thought of it all brings me to tears. There was so much. There was heartache, pain, memories that shall never be brought back to the surface. But there was love. Lots of love. Falling, and diving, and swimming in love. Marriage, and pregnancy, and babies. Friendships dove, and then resurfaced. Bonds of motherhood. Bonds of womanhood. Bonds of marriage. Bonds of family.  This past decade held so much. So much of who I am, and who I strive to be. It’s the decade that I remember most vividly, painfully, joyfully.

As we sit tonight, glasses in hand, views of the beach both of us knew before we knew each other, we remember. And rejoice in the now. And what is meant to be, and has been, and is presently.

Once again, Happy New Year. Here’s to a breathtaking 2010, filled with joy, laughter, and an abundance of hope.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Here’s to 2010…

  1. That was beautiful! Happy New Year, once again. 🙂

  2. You have such a knack for writing. I could read your stuff all day long. Happy New Year Corinne to you and your lovely family.

  3. Jen

    This is lovely. I’m so glad you found me (us), and I wish you a wonderful year ahead.

  4. Oh, such a lovely post. How strange and yet wonderful about you and Lucas gazing on the same beach that night. I love how life unfolds. NYE holds a special place in my heart because that’s when hubby and I really dove into a relationship; I always get nostalgic on NYE not because of the year that’s passed but because of what this night 5 long years ago turned my life Into. We have much for which to be thankful. You, my friend, have had a wonderful decade. 🙂

  5. That is so cool!!!

    Happy New Year to you! 🙂

  6. You really do have a gift with words. (You can post on my blog anytime… class it up a bit.) 😉

    Happy new year, my bloggy friend. I hope this next year holds more joy than sorrows, for us all.

  7. “Less than a mile away, unbeknown to me, sat my future husband with his family.” ~ That is just incredible!

    This was a beautiful post — you have such a gift with words.

    Happy 2010!

  8. Chills I got from this post. Chills. It was also a life changing, overwhelmingly emotional decade for me. One that will be at the forefront of my memories forever… and the full moon was the perfect way to wave goodbye to it! Breathtaking.

    I look forward to spending more time with you here in your world this year! happy new year!

  9. fantastic post. what a difference a decade makes! Can’t wait for the next 10 years…

  10. In 1999, the world was coming to an end; in 2009, you realize that the world is always coming to a begninning. Great post. And a Happy New Year to you and yours.

  11. Happy New Year. I hope this next decade is just as blessed.

  12. Yes, yes. Thank you for this beautiful tribute. It’s been a rich decade for me as well. My god-sister emailed me yesterday and said: look what we did this decade! we made families!
    And we did. Here’s to another decade.
    Thanks for these and all of your words.

  13. Awwww, heart melting good stuff! LOVE IT!

    Nell

  14. Happy New Year to you and your family!! 🙂

  15. Those last ten years solidified who I am, regardless of how anyone else wants me to be. It wasn’t easy, but it was worth it!

    The happiest of years to you!

  16. Such a beautiful reflection on the decade – both yours personally and that of all of us who became mothers and, as Lindsey said, “made families” during the 2000s.

    Happy new year, new friend!

  17. wow…love how life happens.

    and this past decade has meant so very much to me, too. i will always remember it so fondly.

    blessings for the new year, friend!!

Leave a Reply

