Blue skies

Today, there are no fevers. Just blue skies and fresh snow, calling for slippery snowpants and footprints.

Jan 20, 2010 014

Devilish smiles when glancing down a slide that’s filled with snow…

Jan 20, 2010 020

And proud exclamations
Look Mommy! A biiig snowball!!

Jan 20, 2010 024

LOOK Mommy!!

Jan 20, 2010 025

And these cheeks. And little red nose. And the watery eyes that leave single tears… Oh. My. Goodness.

Jan 20, 2010 030

We all desperately needed that hour of fresh air this morning. In the worst way.

Especially me. Because in about twenty minutes, my 6 week writing class starts, and I’m a bundle of nerves and nervous energy. It’s online, and sounds similar to classes I’ve taken previously, but it’s six weeks, twelve assignments, of writing. Creative writing. And it’s something just for me. Which I really truly need right now. So I’m excited, but very nervous. Anxious. Ready for it to start, and to see what’s in store for me and diving into the craft.

So this morning, I needed that breath of fresh air to push the nerves aside, to know I’ll be just fine – even if we lost one of Paige’s boots on our way outside and didn’t realize until after she soaked through her sock… had to come back in and relive the whole stuffing everyone into snowsuits and boots a second time…

Blue skies
Smiling at me
Nothing but blue skies
Do I see

~Irving Berlin, Blue Skies

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Blue skies

  1. Love the pictures from this morning! I was out driving my son to preschool beneath the branches dressed in that bright white snow and arched in front of a beautiful blue sky – thinking, Hey, New England, you’re not so bad after all. 🙂

    Hope your writing course is fruitful! I’m looking to teach an online writing course somewhere, actually. The plan was to teach once I finished my MFA – but three kids sort of makes getting out a little tricky. Do mind my asking where you’re taking it?

  2. Beautiful pictures. Glad she is feeling better. 🙂

  3. corinne- your class sounds exciting! and you will be great. just looking at your pictures brought a breath of fresh chilly air to my soul! and i loved it!

  4. I love how Fynn’s blue hat mirrors the sky and Paige’s pinky red one matches her sweet little cheeks.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your class – I did a similar one in November and loved every minute of it.

  5. Thank you for sharing those pictures. What a great way to spend the morning!

    Good luck with your class. I’m sure you’ll love it!

  6. Beautiful photos. Sounds like you will do fine. You’re a great writer. If you write poetry. Can you write and post some love poetry?

  7. Nice. Can’t wait to see how the writing class works out… you already are such a good writer. =)

  8. As always loved the pictures! You’re making me crave another snow storm! I think I need your camera. Or maybe I just need you taking the pictures for me!
    Good luck with your class… you’ll love it I’m sure.

  9. liz

    i want to live that first picture! the class sounds great, keep us posted…good for you for doing something for yourself. you deserve it! xoxo

  10. Look at that bright red nose. CUUUUTE!

    Nell

  11. Those pictures are phenomenal! I can’t get over the colors…they’re just so vibrant & full of life.

    Enjoy your writing class! It’s going to do your soul a world of good to have something like this, just for you & you alone.

  12. Your children are SO SO cute! Oh. My. Goodness.

    I think I need a breath of fresh air. It’s been non-stop-snowing here in upstate NY!

    Hugs to you!
    Traci

    PS: That writing class sounds so interesting. Have a lot of fun. Thanks for visiting Ordinary Inspirations. It means so much!

  13. I am so excited to hear about you starting this class! I have always wanted to, but am to nervous to even contemplate for more than 5 minutes.
    Your kids are so beautiful, Corinne. God bless their little hearts!

  14. I’m so glad the fevers are gone, and you were able to get outside for a little while today. I do believe the fevers have made their way down to our house in Texas now…I got called to go pick Finn up yesterday from school b/c of fever, and I’ve got one today. 😦

    I am very interested in hearing more about your writing class!! I’m reading the book Writer Mama right now, and I’m really interested in taking a class.

  15. Good luck on the class. I envy your determination to do this one great thing for yourself. To take the time. To push yourself to find the words. To do the work.

    And as always, I envy your ability to pick up that camera over and over again and snap those beautiful shots. My poor, poor children are going to have blank years of their lives when mama couldn’t manage to snap a single photo. Not to worry, the first born has about 50 GB worth of baby-toddler year shots. 🙂

  16. Looks like all is looking up in your neck of the woods! And a writing class too….interesting. We look forward to hearing all about it!

  17. Your babies are so sweet! You are going to kill it in your writing class. No worries. : )

  18. Nicki

    Love your pictures. Good luck in your class! You will do wonderful things.

  19. Beautiful pictures. Beautiful sky. Great future ahead. (Enjoy that class!)

  20. How cool! I would LOOOOVE to take a creative writing class. I hope you’ll blog about it and share the really good exercises and prompts. How fun– have a great semester!!!

  21. What class are you taking? I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

