Flashback Friday: Snapshots

I have not been with it this week. I didn’t even realize it was… Friday… {and Flashback Friday at Jo‘s at that…}  until naptime. Earlier in the week I had high hopes for sorting through my memory back and writing the most eloquent of posts about a treasured memory.

Sorry folks 🙂

But what I will do tonight is share a few snapshots from our first long {two weeks!} family vacation. It was August of 2007, and my parents rented a cabin in Maine. We all drove up together on a Saturday, and then Lucas went home on Sunday for his first week apart from us. Ever. It was the longest time we’d spent apart since we started dating. The following weekend he came up and was able to spend the rest of the vacation with us. We spent the vacation on the lake, watching Fynn as he tried so very hard to crawl {with no help from the wood floors…} experimenting with camp style baby food, and had some wonderful quality time together. It was peaceful, other than a few cries thanks to a teething baby, beautiful, and as calm as a vacation could be with a nine month old.

These snapshots are courtesy {once again!} of my most talented mother.

014

017-3

033

{and this one just makes me giggle!}
021-4

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Make sure you hop over to Jo’s at Mylestones for more Flashback Friday posts!

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Flashback Friday: Snapshots

  1. Oh. My. Word. That picture of Finn is wicked cute!! Isn’t it crazy that only 2.5 years have gone by, and yet look at how much they (and we) have grown. Sigh…

  2. I’m so glad you posted today! And now that you’ve let the cat out of the bag that you were planning on writing something poignant you know we’re all going to be expecting that next week, right? (Just kidding!) We won’t hold you to it!

  3. That one in the window, W.O.W! That was just a magical moment looking it. I had to stare a while.

  4. How your mother must feel capturing these moments of beauty and love . How she must feel having created them . In photo. In life.
    Incredible.

  5. Well, it makes perfect sense. I can see now where your creative talents come from — at least in part.

    Your mom is very gifted.

  6. Wow. Fynn was so tiny then…. he’s grown so much (from what you’ve shown here in your blog). How darling! Is it weird to remember back when it was just the 3 of you?

    Wonderful pictures. I love reliving memories through photos…. as well as reading. Photography has become something much more to me lately, and I fall back to letting it tell the story (even though it’s a great exercise to actually find words and turn an eloquent phrase… I might find my way back to that some time later). Happy weekend!

  7. I love Maine. If it was in our Father’s plans for us I would have my bags (and house) packed in a minute! I find it peaceful too. My “perfect” vacation is not to some tropical beach (though the Pearl Farm is nice), its breathing in clear Maine air on the coast, photographing lighthouses and water crashing onto rocks, strolling through the quaint shops, and eating a boatload of ‘lobsta’. 🙂

  8. That sounds like a beautifully perfect memory in a wonderfully magically place…

  9. These are wonderful pictures — they brought a smile to my face. Maine is so beautiful, and so is your sweet family!

    Happy weekend!

  10. Oh wow – your mom is so talented with a camera! Great shots and a really sweet flashback. 🙂

  11. I’ve always wanted to visit Maine. What gorgeous photos. Thanks for sharing.

  12. All of those pictures are beautiful, but my favorite is the first one Finn was an adorable baby (and looks so much like Paige!)– great flashbacks!

  13. awwww – and when there was just one.

    Last night my husband and I snuggled with my oldest in bed since he is sick.

    Took me back to the sweetness of those days when it was easy to spoil and love on one! 😉

    Nell

Leave a Reply

