Untitled on a Thursday

I’m just going to say it.

I love having my mother in town.

Feb 9, 2010 016

I don’t mind that we’re practically on top of each other when she’s here, staying in our little apartment. Fynn doesn’t mind that she snuggles with him at night, sharing his full size bed. Paige doesn’t mind having another person to carry her around upside down.

And even though I’m married, with two kids, in my late twenties, I still don’t mind if she wants to clean my stove top.

She wears the kids out, reads endless stories to them {even makes up some of her own, about little boys named Fynn going on rocket ships…} and gives so much love.

Feb 11, 2010 001

One of the huge bonuses about having her here, 24 hours a day, is that I can take the kids out one at a time. Even if it’s just on errands, that time is precious, for all of us. We both get to see how the kids are one on one, which regular days don’t always allow.

Today I stole Paige away and we went and picked up my new glasses. They’re similar to the ones I wore in college, the ones I wore up until last fall. The most recent ones were nice {and not terribly different…} but they weren’t really me. Paige saw the new glasses on me for the first time and smiled and pointed. I’ll take that as a compliment.

Feb 11, 2010 015

After we picked up my glasses we went on a spur of the moment trip to Barns & Noble. I had a few things in mind… but wasn’t sure I’d be able to find them. Books on faith, alcoholism, recovery. A magazine that features a new friend. Normally when I go in to a huge bookstore I get overwhelmed, and find everything but what I came in for.

Today? Each one of the four items I was looking for practically leapt out at me.

So I had to get them.

I’ve been so good at using the library. I believe so deeply in the library. But I wanted to hold these books. To be able to dive in with a highlighter and to underline the passages that speak to me. I want to dive in to escape. But to escape to a place similar, except with different names. I want to live what I’m going through, but to do so I have to see it from different eyes, different words, at times.

Through this trip, I got to spend some alone time with Paige. It doesn’t happen often… Fynn normally jumps at the opportunity to get out without his sister. But today he said he wanted to stay home. Thanks to my mom he could {and apparently they had a wonderful time together… they drew pictures of Saturn, went swimming through a sea of couch cushions, and then greeted me at the door in his Wall-E underwear}.

At the book store we saw the nurse who discharged me from the hospital with both kids. She was kind, and sweet. Part of me wanted to run up to her and give her a hug, show her Paige. But I kept my distance. Kept the thoughts of how it was funny to run into her today, since Paige will be 18 months old tomorrow.

In those 18 months, she’s blossomed. Grown so much, and is such a sweet little girl.

Paige carried a copy of Anne Lamott’s Traveling Mercies through the bookstore. At the checkout counter she was reluctant to hand over the book, but she did. She waited anxiously for the cashier to give her the book back. No bag necessary for Paige. She clung to that book like it was gold. On the ride home she thumbed through the soft pages, ooo’ing and ahh’ing.

She’s my girl.

So yeah, I don’t mind having my mom in town. She brings with her moments and memories that are never planned, but always leave imprints on my heart.

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Untitled on a Thursday

  1. Ooooo…can your mom swing by my place on her way home? That sounds wonderful. Those one-on-one days with the kids are precious. I’m glad you had such a great outing with Paige. I love your new glasses! Oh and thank you for the shout out…I hope you like the magazine!

  2. I love this post on so many levels.
    1. My MIL is coming in town tomorrow.
    2. You documenting your battle/recovery inspires me so much.
    3. I love the library, but understand the bookstore as well.
    4. Stealing away one kid for quality time is the best.

  3. Natika

    I wish I got along with my mother.
    I hope my girls will never dread a call from their mother. I haven’t spoken to my mother since I got sober. Drunk was the only way I could stand her. It’s been 8wks of pure joy.

  4. txmomof3

    I love this, especially the part about Traveling Mercies. Operating Instructions remains one of my cherished books of all time and will always remind me of each of my pregnancies. I would get that book back out and read it again. When my friends starting getting pregnant (I was one of the first), I loved giving them their own copy.
    Thanks for sharing this.

  5. That is such a beautiful tribute to your mom. I hope you are able to draw strength from her presence that helps you through the days after she leaves. Blessings.

  6. I looked at those photos of your mother closely. I’m taking notes. 🙂

  7. You’re blessed to have a Mama who comes and spends time with the kiddos. One who is there in the ‘thick’ of it with’em. Blessed and sharing it. Thanks! Can I borrow her? 😉

  8. i could have my mom here and i would love it. and i’m so glad you are enjoying the visit! and having the chance to have a girls day out with paige 🙂 i love the new glasses!

  9. I’m so curious about what your four books are!

  10. yes, please DO share the 4 books. 😉

    Mothers that get involved are the best. Not just by bringing over presents, but by really playing and reading and making forts and singing songs. The ones who really want to absorb every moment, just like we do. I am so glad you are getting the time with her, and with your kids one on one. And I am so glad she is getting it, too. A lot of adult kids don’t let their parents in that much, either.

    • crnnoel

      Traveling Mercies ~ Anne Lamott Mommy Doesn’t Drink Here Anymore ~ Rachael Brownell Sober for Good ~ Anne Fletcher and the magazine Artful Blogging 🙂

  11. Oh my goodness. Those are such beautiful pictures! You can SEE the love. Gorgeous.

    And I don’t know what your old glasses looked like, but I love your new ones. You are so pretty! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful moments, they are so special, aren’t they??

    -Ellie

  12. I love the photos of your kids with your mom. Isn’t it just wonderful to sit back and watch them play? One-on-one time is the best. Having the chance to really focus makes such a difference (and knowing your other little one is at home having the time of their life makes it that much better!). I love your new glasses too, that’s a beautiful photo of you! I imagine your mom feels pretty special spending this time with her grandkids…it must be a dream to read such kind words from her daughter.

  13. Ooo the big 18 months, Murphy’s 18month birthday is the day after paige, it seems such a big step from being a baby to a fully fledged toddler.

    x

  14. Booling

    Love the new glasses!! Also, I love your Mom!

  15. Lamott is the PERFECT person for you to be reading right now. I’m so glad you picked up the book. You’ll get so much out of it.

    I love that picture of your mom with the kids. There’s so much joy there.

    The glasses suit you! Has anyone ever told you that you look like that Ally McBeal chick? The hot one?

  16. Ahh, Corinne, I’m so happy that your mom is giving you and your kids all the nurturing you deserve right now. I miss my own mom so much – truly the worst part about moving so far away from home – and I treasure each moment of each one of her visits.

    And, yeah, spill it on the items you got at B&N: I’m assuming the magazine and Traveling Mercies were two of them?

  17. It’s nice when your mom turns in to your friend, too.

  18. Love your new glasses! (I got new glasses too… well, haven’t come in yet from the optician, but soon…. )

    And that book in the first photo? I gotta get that for my boy!

    Hope you have a great weekend with your family. =)

  19. Val

    Hugs to all of you!

  20. I love that you need your mom, and Paige needs you, just as you need them: a strong circle of women.

    (And we all need Anne Lamott!) =>

  21. I’m so glad your mom has been in town for a visit! It sounds like she’s got pretty great timing. It is wonderful having a grandparent around, even if just for a short time. I see that she’s reading How Do Dinosaurs Say I Love You to the kids….we’ve got that one in heavy rotation right now!

    I LOVE your new glasses! They look just perfect on you. Have I ever told you that I wear glasses too? (Or at least I should be wearing my glasses…) Mine are very similar to yours, in fact. 🙂

Leave a Reply

