Today, I understood

There are days when I look at my kids and I’m awestruck. By their hearts, their beauty, their being. The hugeness of it all.

Feb 12, 2010 010

And I wonder how it’s possible that they are their own beings, and yet so much like me. Like Lucas. Like each other.

Feb 12, 2010 024

It boggles my mind that I had a hand in creating them. I can’t put into words what I feel… I’m amazed that they can think for themselves, that they have intuitions, that they function. Does that make any sense? They were just babies not that long ago, but now… now they have opinions and likes and dislikes. They’re growing into themselves.

Feb 12, 2010 058

And we get to watch all of it. The stumbles and falls. The hopes and dreams. We get to see, and sometimes fear, that we live in them.

Feb 12, 2010 062

Today I stood back and watched my children explore a new place. I watched them learn new tricks. They jumped, and sometimes fell.

Today, I understood.

“Having children is like letting your heart walk around outside of your body.” ~Author unknown

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Today, I understood

  1. I know exactly what you mean.. I feel the same way all the time.

  2. I so understand what you’re saying. So many times I look at my kids in complete and utter awe that I MADE them. That I created them and I’m still creating them. What a responsibility it is to have them in our hands to mold into the creatures we want them to be. But it’s an honor isn’t it?

  3. You and your girl are TWINS!!! Beautiful shot, you’re both gorgeous.

    I feel so out of it — missing the time to read and keep up over our many avenues of social media!

    Shoot me an email when you have time. I”d love to hear how you’re doing… xoxo

  4. What awesomeness for these little humans to trust us the way they do. Us, fallible parents, their whole world. It gets me all the time.

  5. I’ve thought of that quote so many times since becoming a mom. I think I heard it before I had kids and didn’t get it at all. Sometimes I find myself treating my kids like they are a part of me, and then suddenly think, “Where did these PEOPLE come from?” Your people are adorable. And wherever you guys were playing in the photos looks super fun.

  6. Looks like a fun place to explore.

  7. Oh! What gorgeous pictures! And I completely relate – I have these flashes where I’ll see them and just be utterly, completely in AWE. And I love that quote – it is so very true.

  8. My mom and mother-in-law used to say that quote to me all the time and before I had my boys, I never really got it. Now I do. Now I do.

  9. what beautiful pictures to capture beautiful kids and accompany beautiful words.

  10. I’ve been in this process of understanding as I watch Gabe grow into a preschooler. It’s utterly amazing. Sometimes I look at Ethan and I want to shout, oh stop growing! Stay my baby. But then, I get it when I watch Gabe talk and interact and just live. I understand, as you put it.
    And that quote, oh, how I’ve often uttered it to my friends who have no children. Because that’s precisely what it’s like — you’re heart just walking, talking, breathing, beating outside of your body.
    Wonderful post, Corinne.

  11. P.S. contrary to my comment, I do, indeed, know the difference between your and you’re. And next time I will read my comment before I publish. Opps. Grammar errors make me crazy.

  12. That was beautiful, and so true. It amazes me every day that I’m lucky enough to have my boys.

  13. I told you I was really new at this! I just realized that I had bookmarked a specific post instead of home page. I kept wondering why you weren’t posting anything new. Forgive me – and you have been so nice stopping by my place and commenting.
    I’m looking forward to meeting the group in March.

  14. Nicki

    This is beautiful!

  15. =) It’s hard to see this sometimes when they’re super whiny and over-tired and obnoxious and stubborn. Great reminder.

  16. i do love that quote… i think because of how true it is. and as they get bigger… their own selves grow in such amazing ways, and you can catch a glimpsof who they will be… and still… my heart is walking outside myself. looks like your day was fun!

  17. You and your daughter look very much alike ­čÖé

    Nell

  18. I have always loved that quote! I feel it to be true with every fiber of my being!

  19. beautiful pictures and words. You captured both perfectly.

  20. I scrolled through these last few posts last night – The photo of you and your little one caught me. She has your eyes. I love it…

Leave a Reply

