Boots and guitars

My little brother is Uncle Toby to my kids {or, as they say on occasion, Uncle Toad-y} To them, he’s some sort of super hero. They adore him. They climb on him, he throws them in the air, carries them upside down.

He’s a big fan of the kids.

He’s also a big fan of the fact that he doesn’t have to get up in the middle of the night with them, or wipe their bums.

To my kids, he’s the best thing since sliced bread. Or, in their case, fruit crushers from Trader Joe’s.

Yesterday we dropped my mom off at Toby’s place for a few nights before she comes back to us for the rest of her visit. The kids and I had never actually been to his apartment… but after today, I think we’ll be more frequent visitors. Who cares if the place isn’t childproof? They possibly had more fun there than at the Children’s Museum.

Why? Because Uncle Toby has three guitars.

Feb 12, 2010 070

Feb 12, 2010 078

Books that Paige can sink her teeth into… {seriously, the girl might have more refined tastes in books than either of her parents…}

Feb 12, 2010 075

And Boots. Biker boots. And a “motorcycle” {aka a bike… but Fynn thinks it’s a motorcycle, so that’s way cooler} inside.

Feb 12, 2010 084

He also has the best hot chocolate, plays his guitars, shows the kids how to play his guitars, and lets them run around like wild horses in his apartment. Fynn could barely contain himself while he talked about our adventures at Toby’s at the dinner table.

Watch out Toby, next time we’ll be diving into your printmaking equipment 😉 Arts and crafts printmaking style!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Boots and guitars

  1. sounds like quite an adventure! what a great guy… to share all of his stuff with your kiddos! they sure looked happy!

  2. That’s what uncles are suppsoed to do — thigns to be adored by nieces and nephews.

  3. Natika

    I think Uncle Toby looked like he was having as much fun as the kids!
    Your kids are such cutie patooties!

  4. I’m loving the book that little Missy is reading in that picture, looking so earnest. So Cute.

    And the motorcycle boots are a good look for her, so watch out!

    I so wish my girls had an aunt or uncle who was awesome and interesting and patient.

  5. Great pictures – captures what looks like a really special day. There’s something great about a cool, fun aunt/uncle. I hope to be that for my nieces and nephews!

  6. Awww, I want to visit Uncle Toby’s house, too! Maybe not for that book on humanism, but definitely for those boots. =>

  7. If Fynn learns how to play the guitar and Paige could sing, they could start a little rock band. If that pans out, let me know if you’re in the market for another guitarist. I might know just the little boy with a pint-sized guitar who could fill said shoes. 😉
    So glad you had fun. My sister loves the kids and the kids love her. Aunts and uncles are like young grandparents … can’t wait til my sis has some little ones.

  8. MK

    the boots are awesome! your brother seems like the best uncle ever!!

  9. I love it! The fact he allows the kids to be wild, says it all. He is one cool uncle!
    Happy Valentine’s to you, Corinne. Hope it’s filled with love. 🙂

  10. What a great day! Yes, you should visit more often and continue making such priceless memories.

  11. Yes, you should visit more often and continue making such priceless memories. How fun!

  12. How lucky for your kids to have Uncle Toby and for you to have brother Toby. Family is the best and these pictures are wonderful.

  13. this is so cool! my brother is (hopefully) moving to our town, and my kids are more excited than they’ve ever been. to them, their uncle is a huge child who always wants to play and know the coolest games and has the coolest toys!

  14. This reminds me of my brother, aka Cool Uncle Jesse (his self-title), who has guitars galore and, unfortunately, an actual motorcycle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

